Attitude -by Professor Charles Swindol of Brigham Young University

3 01 2013

ATTITUDEby: Charles Swindoll

The longer I live, the more I realize the impact of attitude on life.

Attitude, to me, is more important than facts. It is more important than the past, than education, than money, than circumstances, than failures, than successes, than what other people think or say or do. It is more important than appearance, giftedness or skill. It will make or break a company… a church… a home.

The remarkable thing is we have a choice every day regarding the attitude we will embrace for that day. We cannot change our past… we cannot change the fact that people will act in a certain way. We cannot change the inevitable. The only thing we can do is play on the one string we have, and that is our attitude… I am convinced that life is 10% what happens to me and 90% how I react to it.

And so it is with you… we are in charge of our attitudes.

Actions

Information

4 responses

15 11 2013
Jack gatto

George,I love you and your remarks on attitude brightened my hours. I am paralyzed now from two stroked,like a prisoner on my bavk in bed. Can’t walk or get up without nursing help ,but I am dead broke with no income to hire. Nurse,yet still alive with only what the strokes left to dork with, sttirude, you are a genius! That is it! Mst try harder inside,but shit,feel so rotten not to be able to care for my wife. Who will ever hire mr? Must find work,despite domed!gd bless you,glad you are xtillkivking

16 11 2013
georgemeegan

Oh my God!!! I have finally managed to get into my own thing. What a case.

John, John beloved John. Pray excuse my long delay, I have not been near this blog thing for donkeys. There is so much of this electronic tsunami that washes over so much of life, drowning us all in dross.

I am in Ecuador. Holed up in an Amazon town and focusing on getting the Gatto wisdom to the rescue of mankind.

Of course I can imagine the wild young beauty Janet WAS the one who played chess as a grand master, and it was YOU who hurled the board, pieces and all, into the swimming pool. Love, or the opposite (for a bit) was all of 53-years ago next month.
A wonderful combination.

I meet a lady last time in New York. Her mother was a pupil at the Brooklyn school for the deaf / blind. The lady’s father was a GI who was ignored when, not knowing, he tossed a ball her way but she did not respond. Then he they fell in love, too.

Annie Sullivan was the greatest teacher of the latter part of the 19th Century. AS Niall for the first half of the 20th Cent, and some chap named John Taylor Gatto for the latter part of the 20th C. Well, I was to get the lady to toss the ball and thus confirm Jack Gatto in his awesome, historic role. Alas, the lady had to bail because of a romantic meltdown, of course.

You are somehow managing, and Janet too. The grim business of repose after spectacular doings. Bless you, bless you both.

I will try to tail in with the nurse when next in New York. The whole world is always through that old British city.

4 05 2014
georgemeegan

Janet & John was the new reading book in 1958 UK. It replaced Dick & Dora.

Do you get this? I have a clip of film for you in 2 weeks. It cements your historical position, noble Sir. Soon. george

4 05 2014
georgemeegan

John, can you imagine I was locked out of my blog with no recourse across most of a year until now!

Would be uttely great to link. I was at your lobby last year, but could not get past the doorman. Hope to be back in NYC for a few days in Nov. 2014.

Many things. Survival is victory though the inevitable deprecations of health dim the glory. Am at this point fast on penniless. Doing a video named for thy.

Love you to bits, as the world. Indomitable you both. Janet what a lady! george!!!

Leave a Reply

